Countdown / Update Post

2 days until Miss New York…

  So it’s been a long journey to get to the final few hours before the Miss New York competition, but it’s finally here! Bad news is that I’m feeling extraordinarily sick right now, but hopefully by Friday morning I will be feeling good as new. Almost everything is packed (almost…) and bright and early tomorrow morning we will be on our way to Staten Island!

  In other updates because I haven’t blogged in so long, I have two exciting events I participated in. The Lilac Festival Parade was the first event, and was so much fun! Myself, Miss Flower City, and the Miss Flower City Princess all rode in a bright red Camaro in the parade. Rochester is known as the “flower city” for our gorgeous lilacs all over the city, so naturally we had to be a part of this amazing event! Image

  About a week after the parade, I got to be apart of another fun opportunity. The Teen Book Festival at Nazareth College is a huge event, much bigger than I ever would have thought! Dozens of authors, and hundreds of teens all got to do autograph signings, ask questions, and go to classrooms to hear the individual authors talk about their lives as writers, how they got inspiration for their books, and just about everything in between! I got to meet and hear one of my all time favorite authors Simone Elkeles talk about her books, and she was probably one of the funniest people I’ve ever met. She definitely inspired me, and I am considering taking a creative writing class next year, and starting a novel of my own. Anyways, I had a ton of fun, and can’t wait until next years festival!Image

Leave a comment